Research Team

Principal Investigators

    1. Iris Xie, PI, Professor, UWM-SOIS, hiris@uwm.edu
    2. Rakesh Babu, Co-PI, PhD, Lead Accessibility Scientist, Envision Inc., Rakesh.Babu@envisionus.com

Research Assistants

    1. Tae Hee Lee, PhD student, UWM-SOIS
    2. Shengang Wang, PhD student, UWM-SOIS
    3. Hyun Seung Lee, PhD student, UWM-SOIS

Consults for IMLS project

    1. Jim Allan, Accessibility Coordinator, Webmaster, Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired; Chair, W3C User Agent Accessibility Guidelines Working Group, Web Accessibility Initiative, jimallan@tsbvi.edu
    2. Krystyna Matusiak, PhD, Associate Professor, University of Denver; Digital librarian for 10 years; Chair, ASIST Special Interest Group for Visualization, Images, and Sound; ASIST Standards Committee member; Chair, IFLA Library Theory and Research committee,  krystyna.matusiak@du.edu

Advisory board members for IMLS project

    1. Mary Alexander, National Program Director for Learning Ally, mAlexander@LearningAlly.org
    2. Daniel Cohen, Executive Director, Digital Public Library of America, dan@dp.la
    3. Susan Fraser, Director, The New York Botanical Garden Mertz Library, sfraser@nybg.org
    4. Mike Furlough, Executive Director, HathiTrust, furlough@hathitrust.org
    5. Geri Bunke Ingram, Community Manager for OCLC’s CONTENTdm community, develop and design the CONTENTdm user experience, ingramg@oclc.org
    6. Bethany Nowviskie, Director, Digital Library Federation at CLIR, bnowviskie@clir.org
    7. Serena Rosenhan, Director, User Experience Design, ProQuest, Serena.Rosehan@proquest.com
    8. Carrie Russell, Program Director, Public Access to Information, American Library Association(ALA), crussell@alawash.org
    9. James Shulman, President, Artstor, Schulman@ARTstor.org
    10. Dan Wenzel, Executive Director, BLIND, Inc., dwenzel@blindinc.org
    11. Kristen Witucki, Community Coordinator, Blindness & Visual Impairment, Learning Ally, kwitucki@learningally.org
    12. Marcia Zeng, Professor, Kent State University, Prior member of IFLA’s Digital Library Guidelines Working Group and the ASIST standards committee, mzeng@kent.edu

Partners for IMLS project

    1. American Council of the Blind, Eric Bridges, Executive Director, ebridges@acb.org
    2. American Library Association, Alan S. Inouye, Director, Office for Information Technology Policy, ainouye@alawash.org
    3. Association for the Blind & Visually Impaired, John McElheron, Social Worker, jmclhoron@avimichigan.org
    4. Blind Service Association, Debbie Grossman, Executive Director, dgrossman@blindserviceassociation.org
    5. Digital Public Library of America, Daniel Cohen, Executive Director, dan@dp.la
    6. Learning Ally Mary Alexander, National Program Director, malexander@learningally.org Kristen Witucki, Community Coordinator, kwitucki@learningally.org
    7. Milwaukee Art Museum, Beret Balestrieri Kohn, Audio Visual Librarian, beret.balestrierikohn@mam.org
    8. Milwaukee Public Library and Wisconsin Talking Book & Braille Library, Paula Kiely, Director, pkiely@milwaukee.gov
    9. Milwaukee Public Museum, Hillary Olson, Vice President, Audience and Community Engagement, olsonh@mpm.edu
    10. National Federation of the Blind-WI Chapter, John Fritz, President, johnfritz66@gmail.com
    11. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (UWM) Libraries, Michael Doylen, Associate Vice Provost & Director of the Libraries, doylenm@uwm.edu
    12. Vision Forward Association, Terri Davis, Associate Director, tdavis@vision-forward.org
    13. Wisconsin Library Services (WiLS)- Recollection Wisconsin program, Emily Pfotenhauer, Recollection Wisconsin Program Manager, emily@wils.org

Supporting Organization

United States Library of Congress, Office of the Law Library, Rebecca Shaffer, rshaffer@loc.gov