IMLS desktop project team

Principal Investigators

  1. Iris Xie, PI, Professor, UWM-SOIS,
  2. Rakesh Babu, Co-PI, PhD, Assistant Professor, UWM-SOIS,

Research Assistants

  1. Tae Hee Lee, PhD student, UWM-SOIS
  2. Shengang Wang, PhD student, UWM-SOIS
  3. Hyun Seung Lee, PhD student, UWM-SOIS
  4. Melissa Davey Castillo, PhD student, UWM-SOIS
  5. Sukjin You, PhD student, UWM-SOIS
  6. Sukwon Lee, PhD student, UWM-SOIS

Consults for IMLS project

  1. Jim Allan, Accessibility Coordinator, Webmaster, Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired; Chair, W3C User Agent Accessibility Guidelines Working Group, Web Accessibility Initiative,
  1. Krystyna Matusiak, PhD, Assistant Professor, University of Denver; Digital librarian for 10 years; Chair, ASIST Special Interest Group for Visualization, Images, and Sound; ASIST Standards Committee member,


Advisory board members for IMLS project

  1. Mary Alexander, National Program Director for Learning Ally,
  2. Daniel Cohen, Executive Director, Digital Public Library of America,
  3. Susan Fraser, Director, The New York Botanical Garden Mertz Library,
  4. Mike Furlough, Executive Director, HathiTrust,
  5. Geri Bunke Ingram, Community Manager for OCLC’s CONTENTdm community, develop and design the CONTENTdm user experience,
  6. Bethany Nowviskie, Director, Digital Library Federation at CLIR,
  7. Serena Rosenhan, Director, User Experience Design, ProQuest,
  8. Carrie Russell, Program Director, Public Access to Information, American Library Association(ALA),
  9. James Shulman, President, Artstor,
  10. Dan Wenzel, Executive Director, BLIND, Inc.,
  11. Kristen Witucki, Community Coordinator, Blindness & Visual Impairment, Learning Ally,
  12. Marcia Zeng, Professor, Kent State University, Prior member of IFLA’s Digital Library Guidelines Working Group and the ASIST standards committee,

Partners for IMLS project

  1. American Council of the Blind, Eric Bridges, Executive Director,
  2. American Library Association, Alan S. Inouye, Director, Office for Information Technology Policy,
  3. Association for the Blind & Visually Impaired, John McElheron, Social Worker,
  4. Blind Service Association, Debbie Grossman, Executive Director,
  5. Digital Public Library of America, Daniel Cohen, Executive Director,
  6. Learning Ally Mary Alexander, National Program Director, Kristen Witucki, Community Coordinator,
  7. Milwaukee Art Museum, Beret Balestrieri Kohn, Audio Visual Librarian,
  8. Milwaukee Public Library and Wisconsin Talking Book & Braille Library, Paula Kiely, Director,
  9. Milwaukee Public Museum, Hillary Olson, Vice President, Audience and Community Engagement,
  10. National Federation of the Blind-WI Chapter, John Fritz, President,
  11. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (UWM) Libraries, Michael Doylen, Associate Vice Provost & Director of the Libraries,
  12. Vision Forward Association, Terri Davis, Associate Director,
  13. Wisconsin Library Services (WiLS)- Recollection Wisconsin program, Emily Pfotenhauer, Recollection Wisconsin Program Manager,

Supporting Organization

United States Library of Congress, Office of the Law Library, Rebecca Shaffer,